Register Today


Please sign up for updates (menu to the right). The Advisory Panel would like to hear from you on topics, presentations or speakers you would like to see included in the Summit on June 25.

Please submit abstracts and presentation ideas to Todd Latham at 416-444-5842 x111 or

View Advisory Panel here.

Matt Horne (Associate Director for British Columbia, Pembina Institute)
Mary Polak (Minister of Environment, Province of British Columbia)
Ingrid Stefanovic (Dean, Faculty of Environment, Simon Fraser University)

Margaret Catley-Carlson, Chair

Patron, Global Water Partnership
Margaret Catley-Carlson, Chair Margaret Catley-Carlson operates at the Board level in support of improved water resource management and the twin issues of agricultural productivity and rural development. Chair of the Foresight Advisory Committee for Group Suez Environment, the Crop Diversity Trust, member of the UN Secretary General¹s Advisory Board on Water, the IFDC (Fertilizer Council), World Food Prize and Syngenta Foundation Boards, of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Water, the Rosenberg Forum, the Canadian Water Network, President of CIDA 1983-89; Deputy ED UNICEF in New York 1981-1983; President Population Council in New York 1993-98; and Deputy Minister Department of Health and Welfare 1989-92. Eleven honorary degrees, Officer Order of Canada.
Back to top

Robert Haller

Executive Director, Canadian Water and Wastewater Association
Robert Haller Robert Haller is the executive director of the Canadian Water and Wastewater Association. He started with the CWWA in May of 2012 after 20 years as a senior municipal administrator where he oversaw several infrastructure projects including a new wastewater treatment facility. Robert holds a BA in Geography from Carleton University and a Masters in Public Administration from the University of Western Ontario where his work focused on water policy following the Walkerton tragedy. Robert has served on the Source Protection Working Group for the St. Lawrence River and has served on the Municipal Advisory Panel to the Ontario Clean Water Agency. He feels his work as a municipal town manager has made him a jack of all trades when it comes to municipal government and provides him the credentials to speak on behalf of municipal utilities across Canada.
Back to top

Matt Horne

Associate Director for British Columbia, Pembina Institute
Matt Horne Matt Horne is the Pembina Institute's associate director for British Columbia. Drawing on fifteen years of experience with energy and climate change issues in Canada, he is a leading voice on the environmental impacts associated with LNG and shale gas development in B.C. His research has included looking at the risks to water from shale gas activity, and the technologies, practices and policies that can reduce those risks. Mr. Horne holds a Bachelor of Engineering from Dalhousie University and a Master of Resource and Environmental Management from Simon Fraser University.
Back to top

Fred Keating, MC

Fred Keating, MC Fred Keating is surrounded on three sides by water: his property in Maple Ridge, British Columbia is bisected by Coho Creek (aka Balabanian Creek); 200 meters north is the Alouette River and 0.5 km south is the mighty Fraser River. He has completed the Basic Coastal Navigation Course and swims like a fish (an old fish!). Fred’s recent familiarity with water issues has expressed itself in a variety of ways: He wrote and produced most of the 15 high definition video programs displayed on large screens that surround the exhibits at the Bow Habitat Station in Calgary. The exhibit’s purpose is to educate visitors of all ages to the particular challenges, triumphs and tragedies that are experienced in various waterways and bodies of water in Alberta. Fred has hosted WaterTech, the annual conference for Water Technologists and Remediation specialists held in Banff over the past 5 years. He has been intimately involved in the production of live special events, awards shows, special education conferences and public broadcasts where water issues have been discussed. Fred is an outstanding resource as a plenary and breakout session facilitator or Master of Ceremonies.
Back to top

Mary Polak

Minister of Environment, Province of British Columbia
Mary Polak She is currently vice-chair the Environment and Land Use Committee, and is a member of the Cabinet Working Group on Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG), and the Priorities and Planning Committee. Previously, she served as the Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, Minister of Children and Family Development and Responsible for Child Care, Minister of Healthy Living and Sport, and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Health for the Conversation on Health. Before being elected to the Legislative Assembly, Mary served as a trustee and former chair of the Surrey school board.
Back to top

Ingrid Stefanovic

Dean, Faculty of Environment, Simon Fraser University
Ingrid Stefanovic Ingrid Stefanovic is Dean of the Faculty of Environment at Simon Fraser University. She served as the University of Toronto's Director of the former Centre for Environment (now the School of the Environment) from 2005 to 2010. Her research relates to perceptions of space and how values and attitudes that are taken for granted affect decision making.
Back to top

Ted van der Gulik

Chair & Director, Irrigation Industry Association of BC
Ted van der Gulik Ted received his post-secondary education at the University of British Columbia, graduating with a Bachelor of Applied Science in Bio-Resource Engineering in 1977. He joined the Ministry of Agriculture in 1979 and has served the province’s agriculture industry for 35 years. Ted has spent his entire career with the Ministry of Agriculture specializing in irrigation, water management, and water resources planning. He retired from AGRI in 2014. During his time with the Ministry, Ted has built an international reputation for his leading edge work in agricultural water management. This was demonstrated by his selection as the Irrigation Association’s 2000 Crawford Reid Memorial Award recipient recognizing his work in promoting proper irrigation techniques. Ted was awarded the Premiers Legacy award in 2014 for the many initiatives and models that he spearheaded while with the province.
Back to top

Anna Warwick Sears

Executive Director, Okanagan Basin Water Board
Anna Warwick Sears Anna Warwick Sears is the Executive Director of the Okanagan Basin Water Board, a collaborative local government water agency. Raised in the BC, she lived for many years in California and received a PhD in population biology at the University of California - Davis. Before returning to BC in 2006, Dr. Sears was Research Director of a watershed NGO in Sonoma County, California. Dr. Sears is passionate about using science to solve real-world problems and building bridges with community stakeholders. In her free time, Anna loves to blog about Okanagan water, and cook dinner for friends.
Back to top

Sign Up for Updates

Connect with Us


Contact Us

Todd Latham
416-444-5842 x111

Lee Scarlett
416-444-5842 x114

Produced by

Blue Events Inc:

Actual Media Logo

The Innovolve Group Logo

PAC - Packaging Consortium