Water's Next Awards Gala Dinner

The Water’s Next national awards program honours the achievements and ideas of individuals and companies that successfully work to change water in our country.

The Water's Next Gala Award dinner held at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel on Thursday, June 22, 2017.

Cocktail Reception: 5:30 to 7pm

Dinner: 7 to 9:30pm

All are welcome!


Finalists Announced!

Water Canada magazine’s Water’s Next Award program is the only national awards program to honour leadership across the entire water sector—including public servants, non-governmental groups, researchers, municipalities, and technology providers. Since 2010, Water Canada has hosted the awards to help strengthen and celebrate the thriving national community by showcasing Canada’s water leaders, champions, and innovators.

The 2017 finalists are:

People – Business

  • Mohamed Laaroussi, E2Metrix Inc.
  • Cameron Manners, Aquam
  • Patrick Whalen, LuminUltra Technologies

People – Academia

  • Dr. Zafar Adeel, Simon Fraser University
  • Dr. Lynda McCarthy, Ryerson University
  • Edmund (Ted) Molyneux, P.Eng, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, partnership with University of British Columbia & RES'EAU-WaterNET Strategic Network)
  • Dr. Rehan Sadiq, University of British Columbia

People – NGO

  • Meredith Brown, Ottawa Riverkeeper
  • Jon Grant, WaterTAP
  • Robert Haller, Canadian Water and Wastewater Association
  • Katrina Hartwig, Living Lakes Canada
  • Karla Zubrycki, Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

People – Government

  • Laura Cervoni, Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC)
  • Zoe Kirk, Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen
  • Lana Lowe, Fort Nelson First Nation
  • Jasvinder Singh Hothi, City of Vancouver

People – Young Professional

  • Kathryn Dompierre
  • Paddy Enright
  • Sameer Hemant Shah
  • Josie Ann Langelier & Stefanie Recollet (joint nomination)

 Project/Technology – Drinking Water

  • Luminor, UV water treatment system
  • LuminUltra technologies
  • RES'EAU Community Circle Drinking Water System Development
  • Watergenics Inc.

Project/Technology – Wastewater

  • Baleen International Inc.
  • BQE Water, ChemSulphide
  • Island Water Technologies Inc.
  • Lystek International Inc.
  • Ostara Nutrient Recovery

Project/Technology – Water Resources

  • Aquatic Informatics Inc. - AQUARIUS Project Team
  • Greenland International Consulting Ltd.
  • The Bloom Centre for Sustainability (BLOOM)
  • Eddy Home Inc.

Project/Technology – Stormwater

  • City of Guelph - rainwater harvesting system business wash project
  • Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority - Low Impact Development (LID) stormwater management (SWM) project
  • Purus NA Ecoraster Inc.-  permeable paving system

 Project/Technology – Conveyance

  • Aquam
  • Liquiforce

 Project/Technology – Early Adoption

  • RES'EAU Community Circle Drinking Water System Development
  • Eddy Home Inc – Eddy Home IQ

The 2017 Water's Next Awards will also include two overall categories: Water Steward of the Year and Water Company of the Year, based on the top scoring candidates from each category. Nominees and winners of the Water's Next Awards are selected by our external selection committee.

Check our Nomination page to read category descriptions.


Thanks to:




LiquiForce_Logo_No-Tag ee296ba4-9709-4db5-8913-aa8360085071



Sponsor Water's Next

Want to profile your company as part of the awards. For more information please contact:
Jane Buckland at or 416-444-5842 ext. 115.

Follow us on Twitter @WatersNext for information about Water’s Next 2017.


Sign Up for Updates


Contact Us

Todd Latham
416-444-5842 x111

Jane Buckland
416-444-5842 x115

Katherine Balpataky
416-444-5842 x116

Todd Westcott
416-444-5842 x117

Produced by

Blue Events Inc:

Actual Media Logo